“I Want That Old Thing Back” – Inspirational Love Write-Up For The Singles And Married!!!

“I Want That Old Thing Back” – Inspirational Love Write-Up For The Singles And Married!!!

“Back in my day!” Those were the 4 dreadful words you used to hear from your parents or grandparents when they were about to try to tell you how much better their generation was than yours! It’s funny, though, that as you get older you start to see that maybe they were on to something. I think back at my short life and I sometimes say, when it comes to dating, love, and marriage “I want that old thing back!”

I want that old thing back
When it was “do you like me”…yes or no on the paper,
it was less confusion because wanting to be with someone didn’t come with disclaimers & waivers!
When folks spent hours on the phone getting to know each other
And it took more than 1 like, 2 Facebook Messages, and 3 texts to literally get undercover.
I want that old thing back
When love was innocent and people poured their hearts out in a written love letter
and men weren’t so cool that they had to worry about how much they “sweat her.”
When being a mistress was frowned upon instead of celebrated
and people encouraged, instead of discouraged, marriage because they are so jaded.
I want that old thing back
When men courted women because they knew she was the prize
And ladies were ladies and took some pride in who they let in between their thighs.
When men respected the women because they knew they had to answer to her father
And fathers did more than walk away as if they didn’t want to be bothered.
I want that old thing back
When it was less about child support and more about supporting the child
and the sighting of a strong and responsible black man didn’t come as a surprise & didn’t warrant a “WOW!”
When mothers didn’t think that their little daughters “twerking” was cute,
when being a woman of class wasn’t an option, but an absolute.
I want that old thing back

When marriage was for life not for lease,
and people didn’t go into it with such negative beliefs!
When divorce was the last option and not the first
And when they wanted it to last forever…for better or for worst.
I want that old thing back
When s*x was special and not recreational,
and when it was saved for someone who was a priority instead of optional.
When “will you marry me” was where life began not where it ended
because that’s when folks realized it was bigger than them and their own selfish feelings.
I want that old thing back
When wife was the goal instead of friends with benefits, mistress, or side chick
and women’s value came from more than just being pretty or “thick.”
When men wore their pants on their waist and walked head up & shoulders back
and women were still sexy without all the makeup, tight dresses and tracks.
I want that old thing back
When the title of wife and mother were promotions and not demotions
and when women weren’t afraid to admit that they really do have emotions.
When women knew that they needed men and men knew that they needed women
so instead of the power struggles they were more companionship driven!
Yes I want that old thing back! I think they might have been on to something…back in the day!

One response to ““I Want That Old Thing Back” – Inspirational Love Write-Up For The Singles And Married!!!

What do you think about this? Please drop your comments, It keeps us going. Thanks.

